MVP Awards

Offensive, Pitching, Defensive, MVP

UpdatedFriday June 30, 2017 byNeal Evans (photos by Cindy Miller).

Tallahassee-Leon Babe Ruth Baseball

2017 Award Winners

Tallahassee-Leon Babe Ruth Baseball has many outstanding players all who will champions in their time. With so many talented players finding the best among the best is no easy task and this year was no exception.

With great pride, the following players were selected based on the statistics we had (and we had a ton) but also  interviews with coaches and in the case of the the Kirwin-Elliott Award and the Cindy Meredith Award we had conversation with other people who knew the young and could attest to their character off the field.


Leo Bronakoski

Leo Bronakoski has a heart of a batting champion both on and off the field. He quietly has led the Tallahassee-Leon County Babe Ruth league in hitting all 2017 season long. But it's not about his batting average that is impressive, Leo's outstanding performances are exemplified through his passion for the game, strong character and hustle on the field as a Wahoo leader and teammate. He is not self-absorbed and uniquely handles the highs and lows of baseball's grind. Leo is an aggressive hitter and has hit the ball hard all over the park, recording 7 extra base hits. Leo is a gap to gap hitter with special pop off the bat and hit successfully in all regular season games without striking out. I look forward to his continual rise in Tallahassee Baseball circles as he moves forward through high school. Congratulation Leo, the TLBR offensive player of the year



Jayden Burns

Jayden Burns has been outstanding on the mound this year. Jayden pitched 23 1/3 innings giving up only 2 earned runs, recorded 25 strike outs and walking only 4 batters. Coach Williams said this about Jayden “He finds a way to make pitches to get out of jams. He has been our go to guy in all of our tough matchups. He has a very bright future and was an honor and a pleasure to coach.  Congratulations Jayden!”


The Defensive player of the year award was probably the most debated award this year. Two very good players, each in a playing a different position rose to the top. This year the Board decided this was too close to call and opted to award it to both.